Posted by: sekolahbahasainggris | May 9, 2008

Laporan dari Ausie.

Mohon izin, Kabadan..
Mohon maaf, saya rada kuper dengan kemajuan Pusbahasa.
Dengan senang hati saya akan berbagi pengalaman ‘berjuang’ di sini.
Ada salah satu mata kuliah yang sangat menarik: Bilingualism. Istilah Bilingualism bisa memiliki beberapa pengertian. Ada yang mengatakan seseorang dikatakan Bilingual bila bisa menggunakan dua bahasa, meskipun hanya dalam bentuk salam. Tetapi ada juga yang berpendapat sesorang baru bisa dikatakan Bilingual apabila dia menguasai dua bahasa.
Dulu saya berpikir, sesorang dikatakan Bilingual bila bisa menguasai minimal satu bahasa asing. Ternyata, kita orang Indonesia, bilingual semua. Kan minimal kita mengerti bahasa Indonesia dan bahasa daerah masing-masing.
Di mata pelajaran ini, ada salah satu topik yang menarik menurut saya:language shift and language maintenance. Berdasarkan penelitian, sekarang banyak generasi muda yang lebih memilih mempelajari bahasa yang lebih dianggap ‘menguntungkan’ masa depan dengan akibat mereka malas mempelajari bahasa leluhur. Contohnya saya, yang tidak bisa menulis dalam bahasa Komering seperti juga beberapa teman Jawa yang tidak bisa menulis huruf Jawa.
Bagaimana cara agar generasi muda tetap menguasai bahasa leluhurnya? Atau bagaimana agar anak bisa menjadi bilingual sejak dini? Tidak harus anak dimasukkan ke sekolah bilingual yang sepertinya masih sangat mahal di Indonesia. Mungkin para orang tua yang pengajar di Pusdiklat bahasa sudah mengetahui jawabannya.
Salah satu strategi dengan menerapkan One Parent-One Language. Jadi salah satu orang tua selalu menggunakan L1 (dalam hal ini Indonesia) dan yang lainnya menggunakan L2 (bahasa asing atau daerah). Pertanyaan saya, adakah diantara temen-temen yang pernah menerapkan strategi ini sejak anak usia dini?

 

Kapten Yuline Monako

Penulis adalah intruktur Bahasa Inggris

Di Pusdiklat Bahasa yang sedang menempuh

Pendidikan S2 di Australia.

 


Responses

  1. Hi, Lin apa khabar?
    Menanggapi pertanyaan Ulin ttg penggunaan strategi untuk mempertahankan L2, saya secara ‘tidak sengaja’ sudah merapkan yang menurut Ulin sebagai salah satu strategi untuk ‘maintain’ L2 walaupun mungkin tidak sama persis dengan one-parent one-language. Di rumah saya tetap berkomunikasi dengan suami saya menggunakan bahasa Sunda sbg L2. Saat itu belum terpikir bahwa apa yang kami lakukan itu sebenarnya merupakan salah satu cara untuk memelihara L2 bagi generasi selanjutnya yaitu anak2 kami. Kelihatannya mereka pun dapat berkomunikasi dengan L2 walaupun tidak sefasih menggunakan bahasa Indonesia. Nah, sekarang strategi ini saya coba juga agar anak2 dapat berbahasa Inggris. Saya coba untuk banyak berkomunikasi menggunakan bahasa itu walaupun saya tahu kadang mereka tidak mengerti 100%. Hasilnya? Lumayan mereka lebih ‘berani’ untuk berbicara dalam Bahasa Inggris walaupun masih terbatas.

  2. I guess you know what I am doing now… It’s almost June.. Grrr..

    BTW, It’s great..
    That is one way of maintaining the languages (in this case, it’s L3, so your daugters are multilingual). If I may know, is there any other way that you use to expose them to the language (Sundanese and English) such as through friends, reading materials, television? I can get the knowledge for improving my knowledge in this issue (since I haven’t got mine hehehe)

    Cheers,

    Yuline

  3. Lin, to maintain my children’s English, I subscribe Indovision which broadcasts lots of English films/programmes. My six-year old daughter, in particular, keeps watching cartoon films that really help her to improve her English. She feels like she was still in OZ (no Indonesian programmes). It’s a sort of little ‘exposure’ to English, isn’t it? However, for my first daughter since she likes reading more than watching TV, I give her lots of English children stories .

  4. Hallo Yuline, Hallo Thyas !
    Finally, I find the cave where both of you hide !
    Please do not keep away from your community, specially from your students, ex students, fellow instructors, and also from me (he he he …) ! Once you teach the student, you are their teacher….. forever! There is no ex teacher ! So, you still have your responsibility to always monitor and even keep in touch with them. This weblog will help us to communicate with our students and ex students, just like the way you write this letter (about L1 and L2),…wow ……..so sweet ! BTW, how are you (both)? Welcome to the cyberworld !

  5. My L1 is Bahasa Indonesia, our main L in the family! My L2 is Coro Jowo, was influenced by my parents, both of them are Javanese! My L3 is Basa Sunda, influenced by my friends, because I was born and grew up in Bandung! My L4 is English, from my teacher of course (Jr & Sr High School). Aku pacak jugo ngomong Plembang (L5), sebab pertamo kali aku dinas di Sriwijaya, aku tegilo-gilo makan empek-empek samo cuko! Nah, setelah ambo basuo jo ibu, ambo biso baso MInang (L6) …………Thanks Yuline!

  6. G’day Kabadan. How are you sir?

    First of all allow me to express all my respect to you and your family and hopefully you all are well all the time.

    At this moment I also want to apologize for forgetting my obligation as an instructor and as a part of Subpok English only because beeing a student. The fault is really really at me. I certainly will keep in my mind not to do the mistake again and will more creative from now on.
    Some reports about my activities right now as follows:

    1. Practising gradual peer teaching about lesson introduction, giving instruction, vocabulary lesson presentation, vocabulary practice. The aim is to get the instructor back to the guidelines. We’ve been doing it for 3 weeks.

    2. Visiting other institution which was La trobe University for observing english real class at general English education unit. The aim is to give a chance to MELT’s student to do comparison study dealing with all aspects of English teaching. We’ve done it once so far.

    I think that’s all for now and I’m looking forward to getting your suggestion. Please forgive if there are mistypings and inappropriate words applied

    With all respect,

    2LT Dahlan

  7. I’m good, Sir. Btw, I’d like to apologize to you for being late to get involved in this cyberworld. It’s embarassing, isn’t it? I’m here in Pusdiklat Bahasa but I missed the information about ‘weblog’. But thank you, Sir, for reminding me to use this media to share any information particularly that about English. One more thing Sir, I wonder whether you know Col Herry Noorwanto’s blog? I believe that it’ll be exciting to listen to his experience. Thank you, Sir.

  8. OK Thyas, just like the motto of SBI, better late and never! But next time my responses and comments will be in your blog, even now you have already my comment there, whch is not opened yet ! I’ll try to check Col Herry’s blog, I’ll let you know when I touch it ! Thx!

  9. Sorry, wrong typing: …….better late AND never…. should be THAN …….

  10. Hello Sir,

    Thank you very much for your reply. I really appreciate that you are still calling me as a teacher. Honestly, I feel not really comfortable being asked whether I am a teacher in Indonesia.
    I am laughing while imaging I have been in a cave for so long. And I keep laughing myself because I realise how much English proficiency that I’ve lost.

    Talking about language skills, I just discussed about language attrition in bilinguals. Many of us learn a language. Some of us may gain considerably proficiency in the language. Often, for some reason, we cease to maintain this kind of contact with the language. Then, at some later stage, we might find that our language abilities are not what they once were. And I can become the example.

    There are some factors might compromise our language ability after a period of non-use such as age, motivation, education and attitude.

    Language Attrition can be grouped into four:
    First-language loss in a first-language environment
    First-language loss in a second-language environment
    Second-language loss in a first-language environment
    Second-language loss in a second-language environment

    The recipe to avoid language attrition is simple(but sometimes hard to do ?!). That is by maintaining the language. Thyas’ children are very lucky that their parents support them by some biliterate materials.

    Wish I can fix my blog sooner (there is technical glitch, I think), so I can discuss further.

  11. Hi all..
    I like seeing most of my lovely friends’s photo.
    With happy sweet smiles which will be faded away if the students do not get good marks hahaha..
    See You..

  12. Hallo Dahlan! Sorry I supposed to answer your letter yesterday, but there was a technical problem in our network! How is the situation in Australia right now, specialy the impact of rice and gas price rising? He, he he…… sorry, you do not have to think too much about that, that is not your business, let the experts do that! Just concentrate to your study. But, in your leasure time, if there is, pls do share your knowledge and experience with the students in this blog. Even your story sometime can motivate the students to study harder! Good luck Dahlan!

  13. Yuline, I do not believe that English proficiency in your level can be lost! Perhaps it just hidding for a while, then after weeks will come again. That case only happen in the level lower than yours, let say Intermediate and under. I agree with you about the four factors might compromise our language ability after a period of stop using. But, you are not including ….any of that! Do you feel old ? Hee, sorry!

  14. Hello Sir,
    You are right that my English proficiency is only hiding, but it’s hiding in a very deep hole so I have to dig as fast as I can in order not to be left behind.. hehe.. And I am getting older now hehehe..
    I got problem with motivation. I kept maintaining my English through internet and kept reading my English books in the first three years after I was asked to moved from Pusbahasa. However, the environment was really different. I came to the point where hopelessly I thought I will not use my English ability anymore. The thick reading materials that I still read was only Harry Potter. I keep reminding Ayu to maintain her knowledge so she won’t feel sorry.
    I’m lucky that in my University, there are some short courses available (the prices are reasonable and some are free of charge). I kept joining as much as I could (based on my schedules and load of assignment). I really suggest all new students to join any workshops although we, the Armed Forces members, have got the similar knowledge from DITC instructors. Let me give some examples: in my class, there are three other officers from Vietnam who never wanted to join any workshop and kept telling me wasting my energy. They are ‘active teachers’ not like me who is a passive one. But now, since we have to write some academic writing, they always get confused how to find articles from our library online. They do not even know that we may borrow books from other university which then will be delivered to our library, so I have to explain to each of them. We keep laughing by saying “no one is perfect”.

  15. Hi SBI,
    This is just a light, simple, and not so serious discussion, but I believe this is a very meaningful discussion. So far is only among the instructors, Yuline, Thyas, Dahlan and me. I’m thinking, why don’t we have our students to join? Don’t you realize that E-Learning is in process? So, what to wait? Let the students join us!

  16. Teacher Lesson Plans – Debates

    Introduce the idea of debates (15 minutes)

    Explain that in any debate, the student should think hard about what they say and ensure that they only use relevant statements. Make sure that what they say always logically supports the opinion, that it is specific and states the idea clearly, and that it is convincing most people

    * There are also some rules to consider when arguing, such as;
    * Don’t say ‘you are wrong,’ instead say ‘your idea is mistaken’
    * Use ‘many’ rather than ‘most’
    * Avoid the use of ‘never’ and ‘always’
    * The use of ‘often’ and ‘generally’ allow for exceptions
    * Don’t disagree with obvious truths, and concede minor or trivial points
    * Do not present opinion as facts, and avoid exaggeration
    * Smile when disagreeing and watch your tone of voice
    * Attack the idea not the person: don’t win a debate and lose a friend

    Quick debates (20 minutes)

    Ask the students to work in pairs and hold some quick debates (just 2 minutes each) on a number of topics. It’s essential that they disagree, so assigning ‘agree’ or ‘disagree’ role sin advance can help. The topics I use are below, but you can change these to suit your students;

    1. All Chinese writing should be changed to Pin Yin
    2. It is better to be single than married
    3. Women should stop working when they get married and have babies
    4. Women should not change their family name when they get married

    A large group debate (30 minutes)

    Ask the students to form groups of 4-6 people, and split themselves into 2 teams. They will be debating the topic of whether ‘Students should have a part-time job.’ They can use the following handout for ideas and leads, but the ideas should try to come from them. Each point is addressed until exhausted, and then a new one can be introduced.

    Arguments in Favour

    * It helps develop independence among young people
    * It will encourage a sense of competition, which is important for students in the future
    * Earning your own money makes students feel more responsible and mature
    * Part-time jobs make students more confident in themselves
    * Part-time jobs can help students apply their knowledge in practice
    * Part-time jobs give students a feeling of achievement through contributing to the national construction and economy
    * Students who have part-time jobs can reduce, to some extent, the economic worries of their parents
    * Because they earn money, students can pay for their education and thus will value their education even more
    * Part time work helps the economy by providing additional inexpensive labour

    Arguments Against

    * It’s not good for students to do part-time jobs because they will become money-oriented
    * Many students who have part-time jobs have lost interest in their studies
    * The main task of students is to study hard and learn what is needed for the development of our nation
    * Social experience can be gained later after they finish their studies
    * Part-time jobs may expose them to social dangers at an age when they cannot recognise good from bad
    * Though some after-school work can help students to practice what they learn in classes, many jobs require nothing of the students’ knowledge.
    * Because of the low cost of part time workers, employers are tempted to employ only part time and not full time workers, making it harder to get a full time job after graduation
    * Part time workers are not given vacations, sick pay, and health care
    * Most part time jobs are very basic and do not lead to meaningful full time jobs

  17. relevant, timely, fresh, exciting and engaging at…

    the same time.a blog writer should push her readers a little bit every time with a slightly controversial, discussion worthy, thought provoking theory and catch eyeballs with a compelling, racy title.talented blog writers have the ability to turn even …


Leave a Reply

Categories

